I’m Tired

As I sat in a training today, I called my boss and mentor. I told him I was tired and that I was struggling with a couple things. I had to have a couple of tough conversations later in the day. I have a long list of things left to do. I’m tired. I’m not burned out. I’m tired. I’m physically tired from a few weeks of relentless hours pushing toward the end. I’m emotionally tired from having my students, my staff, my students families, our school, not to mention my own family on my mind nearly 24/7. I am a Type 3 (enneagram) and my deepest desire is feel as though I am providing others value and that I have worth. I feel like I’ve exhausted that. My cup is running empty. I’m tired.

BUT

When I sit back. When I really think about the journey. When I think about this game of life, I realize, I am exactly where I want and should be. I am exhausted. I am tasked with and called to being a change agent and I have poured everything I have into doing that this year. It’s the 4th quarter and I’m exhausted. But, I’m ready to take the last shot. Give me the damn ball because whatever it takes, I am pouring everything else I have out over the next 2 and half weeks for my students, my staff, my school and my family. I’m tired, but you better believe, I am proud to be tired.

For all of my fellow teachers, leaders, educators, and anyone else feeling like you’re at the end and you’re wiped. Be proud. You poured out your bucket. You gave it everything you had in the game this year. Be ready for the ball every moment over the homestretch, but be proudYou matter. Continue to fill your bucket over these last few weeks, so you can turn around and pour it back out. But stop feeling guilty for giving everything you have over these past 9 months. Demand the ball and give it some more! Champions don’t take it with them, they leave it all out on the court.

Now, I’m tired, but damn if I’m not ready to run.

Leave a comment