One Word 2018

First of all, I am coming off of the high of actually finishing a New Years resolution last year. If you didn’t read my last post, I set a goal to read 100 books and ended up reading 101. This year I have some resolutions, but they are all tied into my #oneword.

My one word for 2018 is Build. I went back and forth between build, invest, and present, but at the end of the day it all becomes semantics. At the end of the year, I want to be able to look back and see that I have worked, invested and been present in building relationships. I want to look back and see that not only have I become better, but I have worked to build capacity and skills in others as well.

Build at School

To me, this encompasses my goal and hope of continuing to build relationships with everyone who touches our great district. It’s about building my pedagogy, building my skills, but more importantly it’s also about building capacity in others. If I want our building to truly become greater than it is, I must work to build capacity and skills in everyone.

Build at Home

This is a big one for me this year. My daughters are getting older and I’m never going to get this time back with them. Being present and building my relationships with them, with my wife, and investing in our family is important.

Building Myself

I read 100 books last year and I don’t particularly plan to do that again, although I want to continue reading. I do recognize that I need to continue to build my knowledge, but also invest in myself mentally and physically. I had a couple of times this last year where I got into the gym consistently, my goal this year is to get to the gym at least 2x per week. My goal is to read 45 books.

Leave a comment